for piano solo

movement II. dedicated to Constantine Finehouse
movement IV. dedicated to Ulrich Naudé

duration: ca. 9 minutes

I. Still life with Limes and Pomegranates

II. Young man holding a skull—Vanitas
[A transcription of the 'Grief Aria' from Act I of the opera, Pierre]

III. So now the day moves on through hill and valley with its inevitability and its radiance 
[A transcription from the organ work Summer Canons, composed concurrently with Still Lifes

IV. Still life with Books, Papers and Inkwell—Vanitas